FOR ALL EMERGENCIES: DIAL 911 or TEXT 911     NON-EMERGENCY: 860-644-2441      ADMINISTRATIVE: 860-644-8547      MEMBERS: LOG IN

header center

engine3 cutout

President's Award


This award recipient is selected by the President of Social side of our organization and is awarded to a member who exemplifies the Brotherhood and Social aspect of the Fire Service. The recipient is selected by out-going President, James Kulas.


The 2014 PRESIDENTS AWARD was awarded to Scott Fine.

Captain Scott Fine was the recipient of the President's Award. Scott was a key member of the 75th Anniversary Committee's fundraising efforts. He organized, planned and executed three successful golf tournaments, one of the main fundraising events for the Department's 75th Anniversary Celebration. Scott also served as Co-Chair of the 75th Anniversary Parade Committee, and helped organize the 130th Connecticut State Firefighters Association Parade held in town last September. He also chaired the Department's Parade and Uniform Committee and participated in several other social committees over the years.

The 2013 PRESIDENTS AWARD was awarded to Tom Pederzoli.

Firefighter Tom Pederzoli was the recipient of the President's Award. Tom has served as the Department's Secretary for several years. In that role, he is responsible for recording the minutes of the Department's monthly meetings and communicating with the membership regarding Department events and notices. Tom also served as Fundraising Chairman for the 75th Anniversary Committee. 

The 2011 PRESIDENTS AWARD was awarded to Andy Hildebrand.

Also during the Annual Dinner outgoing President Dave Motowidlak presented the President's Award to Firefighter Andy Hildebrand. The President's Award is awarded each year to recognize a member's outstanding dedication and service to the Department. Andy, who is the founder of CPR Training Professionals, has been instrumental in providing emergency medical service training to members of the Department. Andy is a member of the Rescue Squad, the Department's President, and Chairman of the 75th Anniversary Committee.

The 2010 PRESIDENTS AWARD was awarded to John Hofmann.

Also during the Annual Dinner outgoing President Don Marchesseault presented the 2010 President's Award to Captain John Hofmann. The President's Award is awarded each year to recognize a member's outstanding dedication and service to the Department. Captain Hofmann joined the Department in 1995 as a firefighter assigned to Company 2. Over the past 16 years he has served the Department in several roles, including as lieutenant of an engine company, President of the social group, and member of the Truck Committee. Captain Hofmann has been instrumental in bringing the Department into the digital age. He created the Department's first web site, automated the Department's attendance record system, and wrote the incident pre-planning software program that the Department uses today. In addition to his responsibilities as Captain of the Training Division, Captain Hofmann manages the Department's service awards and tax abatement programs. He has taken dozens of courses related to the fire service and is certified as a Firefighter I and II, Fire Officer I, Fire Service Instructor and Incident Safety Officer.

fire banner

Contact Us

patch transSouth Windsor Volunteer Fire Department

1175 Ellington Road
South Windsor, CT 06074


Our Radio Frequencies

Dispatch: 453.2375

Fire Ground: 458.3875

Live Scanner Feed
(provided by